Deeos

· randomwork's blog

There is a D/os on github: https://github.com/D-os. Which try to bring Haiku and binder API to linux desktop. Haiku is an OS designed for personal computing, personal mean only single user, not multiple users like UNIX, so only root. binder is also used on Android, many smartphone use that.

Why? Reduce complex and improve performance and user experience. Well, just less code, faster, and more comfortable to use. But binder seems complex to me, I see it can be more effective than dbus, linux desktop currently use dbus for IPC. For example, fcitx a input method make a dbus call every key storke. Replace dbus with binder may and should improve the speed of fcitx. But binder have a kernel part in linux and userspace part in C++, kernel part is fine, I don't see it much. The C++ part is from android, use style very differently from linux desktop stack. Maybe it should based on glib, like libgbinder. And it have an interface definition language, maybe called AIDL, I'm not sure. D-Bus use XML, okay binder can use XML too. What I'm saying? Um, I hope it can works, but I can't contribute now, too much to do for me. And D-Bus works now, maybe it's slow, but not very much...