Use package

· randomwork's blog

Here are some notes as me reading the "use-package User Manual".

use-package is a macro, to group emacs customization by packages. It put a list of variables assignments, key bindings, hooks into their package group, and saving some typing...

So:

(setopt indent-tabs-mode nil)
(setopt browser-url-browser-function 'w3m-browse-url)
(setopt rcirc-track-minor-mode t)
(global-set-key (kbd "C-z") 'eshell)

I was not aware setopt, and it seems setopt can replace custom-set-variables, not tried, but now I have use-package builtin, so I don't have to try...

Can become:

(use-package emacs
  :custom
  (indent-tabs-mode nil)
  :bind
  (("C-z" . eshell)))

(use-package rcirc
  :custom
  (rcirc-track-minor-mode t))

(use-package w3m
  :custom
  (browser-url-browser-function 'w3m-browse-url))

Which may be more clear to me.

use-package can speed up emacs startup, by don't load packages immediate, defer their loading. Okay I don't have use for that, can ignore.

Configure a package by code can use :config, :init and :preface, preface is first and be told that it's usually not needed. init is before package loaded, config is after package loaded, keep that in mind.

Most use cases should be :bind, :hook, :mode, :interpreter, :custom and :custom-face, seems straight. I have a todo to write a post about my emacs config, using use-package, later...